Thing 23: Making it all work together

I do not think of myself as social media addict. I check my Facebook and Twitter feed daily. But that’s more or less where it ends. Once in a while, I go and see what’s happening on my Google+ account (not much, I have to say, just because I do not make bigger effort there). LinkedIn – couple of times a week.
On the other hand, in a professional life, one platform to manage all of the organization’s social media accounts sounds like a very practical approach (I wonder who came up first with this idea?).
Hootsuite sounds like a very useful platform for managing and monitoring your social media accounts. As I mostly use social media for my personal interests, I decided not to take a free 30-day trial. Instead, I tried out Buffer. I used my personal Facebook account. At the very beginning it allows you to choose if you want to proceed with your personal account or with a specific Facebook page (handy for managing your organization’s profile).

buffer
Setting up Buffer account via Facebook

Overall, setting everything up seems very straightforward. The free plan offers easy scheduling of your post and some basic analytics tools (least and most popular posts by the number of shares, likes, comments, etc.).
I have to say, as most apps/platforms of this type, it raised some concerns in terms of using another platform that you allow access to your personal information. See bellow terms of linking it to my Pinterest account.

buffer-pinterest
Buffer – terms of linking Pinterest account

Overall, I looked at Buffer form my personal use of social media point of view, i.e. I have no immediate need to plan ahead and schedule my posts. On the other hand, in a professional setting, Buffer has a lot of potential in terms of making managing of promotional campaigns much easier. For example, as someone who is working in a retail sector at the moment, I can easily see how Buffer can be utilized to strategically develop and manage seasonal campaigns (Twelve Days of Christmas offers and news, for example). It can be applied to initiate and manage some library campaigns and promote services and resources, I am sure. Also, Buffer has an app for scheduling updates and posts at optimal times (talking about mobile things!). So much of my first impressions of Buffer.
I really liked my first experience with Flipboard. I found it a very user-friendly platform for discovering new content. So, I happily tried linking my Facebook, LinkedIn and Google+ accounts to it. I have to say, while it was really interesting and…unusual to see my Facebook news feed in a form of a “magazine”, it did not match the ease, speed and functionality of an actual Facebook desktop page or its app.
In my opinion, there is no need to use Flipboard to get updates on your social media accounts that use or check on often anyway. I found it quite practical to link my Google+ and LinkedIn accounts because I do not check them on a daily bases, so it is quite useful having those two in my Flipboard feed. I think Flipboard, as your personal “magazine”, is more usable for discovering new content instead of managing your social media accounts.
To sum up, this last Thing and the whole Rudai23 course showed that there are many good platforms and tools for different purposes and everything can perfectly work together. It’s just a matter of finding what your purpose is and what works best for you. We are spoiled for choice!

Leave a Reply

