Thing 21: Infographics

The first time I heard about infographics was during my interview with the senior librarian in Maynooth University Library as I was collecting some information for one the Strategic Information management module assignments during my Master’s course. At that time, the Library was using infographics to design posters showing the public how they did for a particular month (general library statistics – number of visits, books borrowed, PC logons, queries answered, etc.). I have to say, I was very impressed with the simplicity of the idea and such a clean design to show  library statistics and progress. Soon after that, I started noticing infographics being used everywhere, in the papers especially. Although, I have never had a chance to actually create one myself. Until now.

I chose Piktochart platform over Easel.ly for no particular reason. I had no previous experience in either of them, so there was no difference which one I would give a go first.

As with any new platform, it took some time for me to get my head around what it had to offer. I have to say, I spend a ridiculous amount of time to create this really poor infographic bellow. I think having a really clear idea or a specific project in mind would make the whole process much smoother than, as it was in my case, just playing around. I had similar experience with Cacoo – online flowchart generator (a great collaboration tool, by the way!) that I discovered when I had to create a wireframe of a website for Information Architecture module during my Master’s course. It was confusing at first, but once you get a grip on the tools offered, it makes everything else so much easier. So, despite my quite poor attempt tocreate an infographic (as ugly as it is), I think infographics are a great way to visualize your data. And it’s up to our imagination how we can use them to add some aesthetics to our reports or posters in order to show the statistics or promote library services.

Untitled Report
Infographic of my Rudai23 progress so far.
One thought on “Thing 21: Infographics

Leave a Reply

